Cutting Corners

willieholdman.com

South Africa, I love my country. However there is one little thing I don’t understand and it’s not the crime rate, I feel safe in my country. It’s our drivers cutting corners and not staying in their own lanes on winding roads.

Ever experienced oncoming traffic that shortcuts into your lane on winding roads, resulting in you almost hitting the side curb or whatever is next to you as you make way for the oncoming, oblivious driver?

This is my route everyday and some days it’s really bad. Often I have to give way, slow down or even stop so that the oncoming driver can have my lane to shortcut in. Over the years, it became a natural instinct to recognize these drivers and give way automatically.

My message to those who cut corners and risk other people’s lives including their own: “If you do cut corners on the road, where else in your life do you cut corners to reach your destination and how many people have to suffer in the process?”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

