Will This Day Matter In 5 Years?


lsoullessl.deviantart.com

No, this day will not matter in five years, absolutely not! Every time I experience the feeling of loss in my life, I force myself to believe this. Loss can be cruel, it breaks your heart and it can hurt like hell!

Loss, what does it mean? The dictionary defines loss as the fact or process of losing something or someone. According to Buddha, a human being experiences four kinds of suffering: old age, sickness, loss and death. When we experience any one of the four, it becomes very real and it is something we cannot ignore. We cannot go around these four…we have to experience or face it one day.

Last year I experienced sickness and lately only losses. Each time with a harder, tougher lesson to learn from our impermanent world. An interesting quote from Buddha: “Praise and blame, gain and loss, pleasure and sorrow come and go like the wind. To be happy, rest like a giant tree in the midst of them all. 

Yesterday after I lost my precious iphone and macbook, I sat down with a nice cup of coffee and ‘rested’ in what happened. Thoughts of disappointment, loss of beautiful memories and that aching pain of its-so-unfair made me burst into tears a few times. After I let it all out, I realized that despite of my losses and of what happened the last two years, I am still alive! I am still going, going strong and it could have been much worse. So with a smile I finished my (now cold) coffee, I asked that silly old question: “Will this day matter in five years?”….mmm….easy answer I guess 🙂

 

One thought on “Will This Day Matter In 5 Years?


Leave a Reply

