Why Am I So Stressed Out!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stress affects us all. Today I was victim of this uncomfortable emotion that drove me totally insane! All I wanted to do was to finish my work but unfortunately stress found its way into my system and confronted me with a tough lesson. At the end, I was so unproductive except for writing this post! 😉

Why do we stress? Stress is a small word that causes a lot of problems for so many. After my experience with stress (so far my entire postgraduate year!) I have to share with you that I am not managing stress very well. What is stress and why do we have it?

Apparently stress is necessary to survive in this life.  It can be a positive, negative or neutral experience. I found out that the key to handle stress lies in how we manage it when the feeling of stress comes our way.

Here are some interesting facts about stress: 

  • When you’re overwhelmed with too many things in your life or experiencing something out of the ordinary, stress is what you feel. 
  • Your body responds naturally as though you would be in danger (survival)
  • Your body experiences a release of hormones that makes your heart beats faster, you breathe faster and you get a boost of energy.  
  • The body’s response to stress is called the fight-or-flight mode. 

When it happens, this is what you can do:  (between brackets are my own examples) 

  • Acknowledge that you have stress (yes, about 8 out of 10!) 
  • Find out where it comes from (university and personal) 
  • Write it down and get a clear picture of your situation (thesis and assignment deadlines and my housework) 
  • Prioritize your situation and manage your time by using a time-table for that specific period (weekly timetable done for August with checklists) 
  • Find better ways to cope with situations like to call on support if you need to. (asked my mom and friend to support me with my housework and lighter projects)  
  • Learn from your past and make positive changes for your future. (saying no to social commitments!)
  • Go for a massage, meditate or have a relaxing weekend away in the country. (celebrate my achievements and make time for the most important person in my life…me!) 

I already booked that massage for next week and I am feeling better already! I hope you do too 😉

Leave a Reply

