The Weekend: TGIF

Waking up this morning to the sound of my little baby girl’s cooing and aaah-ing, I quickly left the warm covers for yet another day of duty-calling. I jumped up and then stopped…’hey, thank god it’s Friday!’ I displayed a huge smile of satisfaction and made my way into the ‘last’ day of slavery, responsibility and check lists!

 The weekend is simply two wonderful days filled with possibility! 

During the week, we chat about our weekend plans and arrange it accordingly. Finally it arrives and we dive into the freedom: we get ourselves all busy at home, we scurry to our pretty malls, finding ourselves in long queued banks, we enjoy our noisy restaurants and we join the locals at the latest event in town. We must not miss anything! We’ll enjoy Saturday brunch at our favorite Cafe’s with our dearest friends and we feel that life is such a blessing on lazy Saturday afternoons. Evenings we either make our way to the dance floor, we laugh and watch movies till late until its time for those ‘explicit shows’ on telly which normally upsets us or not.

We have that second cup of coffee in bed on Sunday mornings, chatting on our smartphones whilst being oh so conscious of distant church bells ringing and wondering who is in church and wearing what. We make our way to meet family and friends for the usual and may I add, delicious Sunday lunch…..And then reality checks in…that little voice usually around 4 to 6pm: a subtle reminder of our Monday morning preparation. Obliviously we get our formal act together and diligently return to our ‘good-old’ routine of responsibilities and deadlines! Yayyy!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ok, I exaggerated a little in my story, but I hope you get my picture. Personally I believe it’s not a matter of the amount of days within a weekend, but what I do with those days. I see it as a gift from the ‘universe’ where I live, share, enjoy and express myself in every moment of this wonderful freedom called Weekend End…bearing always in mind that it could’ve been worse…;-)

4 thoughts on “The Weekend: TGIF

Leave a Reply

