Disappointment

tinybuddha.com*

Disappointment is the feeling of dissatisfaction that follows the failure of expectations. It is similar to regret which focuses primarily on personal choices that contributed to a poor outcome, while a person feeling disappointment focuses on the outcome itself.

Recently I experienced major disappointment accompanied by loss and a heavy heart.  After a few months of hearth ache and suffering, I said, ‘enough’! I read a few articles and quotes online, I analysed my situation and found the root of my disappointment: I made this person into my soulmate. All these years, I subconsciously created expectations of him and even branded him as ‘the one’. Unfortunately the soulmate turned out to be somebody else. I then blamed him for my disappointment which led me into a world of pain and frustration, denial and you name it.

The story continues… I got to understand that behind all my disappointments are my own desires, only I can fulfil. These desires are within me, I need to acknowledge them and make them conscious. How do I do that? By taking the time to listen to my needs and writing them down. Taking a stand to own them and turn them into reality.

Our disappointments strengthen our humanity and we are responsible for our own changes and results in our lives. Blaming someone else for our disappointments are weak, wrong and very painful. Taking the responsibility to own our disappointments and forgive those who have hurt us including ourselves, will release us and others from our pain.

After all, it was me who created that expectation of someone to fulfil my needs! How silly of me 😉

One thought on “Disappointment

  1. Natasha Buhmann says:

    Yes, I fully agree. B
    eautifully formulated and once we understand that it makes life easier ❤

    Love and light,
    Namaste

Leave a Reply

