It’s a Poor Idea to Lie to Yourself

When you make a false statement with a deliberate intent to deceive, that is when you lie. You plant a tiny seed of deception that will manifest some way or another in your life and usually accompanied by suffering and pain.

When you lie to someone you automatically lie to yourself. At a recent party, I lied to a stranger about who I was. The next day I felt immense guilt from my poor actions.Why did I do that? Too much alcohol? After feeling sorry for myself, I looked at the reasons why I lied.

The root of the problem: ‘I was not proud of myself.’ This made me very sad and insecure. A couple of days later, I made the effort to really get to know myself by enrolling in a weekend workshop. The results were amazing!

The act of lying and its consequences are inevitable. It will catch up with you if you don’t make amends now.  Lying equals not trusting and loving yourself enough, to tell the truth. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “It’s a Poor Idea to Lie to Yourself

Leave a Reply

