Why Do Magazines Still Print?

source*style-delights.blogspot.com

We live in an online community where social media is the ruling party and technology is synchronised into our fast paced lives: we feel naked without our smartphones and we hardly communicate face to face. It is an online world! So why do magazines still print and selling the ”old fashioned” way?

I went off to the shops and asked a couple of people browsing magazines. The most significant answer: ‘‘Buying magazines is a habit and I’m so tempted! The cover is luring me in and while I browse, I’m subconsciously aware of my interests and what is useful in my life. Next thing, it is in my trolley.’’

The magazine people say they keep their clients happy by communicating the perfect life. ”How to be…”. It is almost like filling the gap.’’

My point: If it is all about filling the gap, then why not move to the online community and ditch the paper for good. After all, our trees are suffering….check this out: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_many_trees_are_cut_down_to_make_one_piece_of_paper

Now is a perfect time for the printing industry to move over and join the online community permanently. Find a way to use digital advertising in shops. Readers can browse and buy the online access via their smart phones. Just an idea!

source* allthingsd.com

3 thoughts on “Why Do Magazines Still Print?

  1. zanele khewu says:

    i HOPE they never stop printing, am a huge fan of anything printed, I still have my mags from when I was 16. and its always so cool when am bored, i go through them and see the different changes a magazine has gone through, growing up together. technology can take over, but nothing beats being curled up in bed on a sunday morning and you reading from a mag or a book:). so they catereing for me.

  2. Clivia Vogel says:

    I can understand you! And I can honestly tell you, I felt the same away. Until I found out and experienced the reality without any fresh air (that was in the northern parts of India!) I never longed and wished for trees as much! Without it, we cannot live, not even curl up to anything. In fact, we will all be dead. I got this off the web: ”1 ton of uncoated virgin (non-recycled) printing and office paper uses 24 trees, 1 ton of 100% virgin (non-recycled) newsprint uses 12 trees, A “pallet” of copier paper (20-lb. sheet weight, or 20#) contains 40 cartons and weighs 1 ton. Therefore, 1 carton (10 reams) of 100% virgin copier paper uses .6 trees, 1 tree makes 16.67 reams of copy paper or 8,333.3 sheets, 1 ream (500 sheets) uses 6% of a tree (and those add up quickly!), 1 ton of coated, higher-end virgin magazine paper (used for magazines like National Geographic and many others) uses a little more than 15 trees (15.36), 1 ton of coated, lower-end virgin magazine paper (used for newsmagazines and most catalogs) uses nearly 8 trees (7.68), How do you calculate how many trees are saved by using recycled paper?, (1) Multiply the number of trees needed to make a ton of the kind of paper you’re talking about (groundwood or freesheet), then (2) multiply by the percent recycled content in the paper. For example, 1 ton (40 cartons) of 30% postconsumer content copier paper saves 7.2 trees and 1 ton of 50% postconsumer content copier paper saves 12 trees.”

    Trust me I love my magazines too and in fact, i just got one for my mom, but our reality is out there…. we need to be realistic and move towards a future of sustainability and technology. Anyway, I will see you in class! Have a good evening. Mwuah! C

Leave a Reply

